Skip to main navigation.

Annual Meeting

Minutes of the Butler Electric Cooperative Annual Meeting
Circle Middle School, Benton, KS. - March 15, 2018



Pursuant to notice thereof, the 2018 Annual Meeting of the members of Butler Rural Electric Cooperative Assn., Inc., was held on March 15, 2018, at Circle Middle School in Benton. The meeting was preceded by a dinner served to the membership and guests. Information booths were maintained during the registration process.

            BEC Journeyman Lineman Aaron Yoder delivered the invocation and Rylee Madden performed the National Anthem.  The business meeting was called to order at 7:00 p.m. by Board President Bryce Flaming.  President Flaming introduced the Trustees and guests. The past Trustees in attendance at the meeting were then recognized by President Flaming.

            Office Manager, Sarah Madden, presented a video and reported on the Operation Round-Up Program.  Member Services Director, Travis Griffin, introduced the 2017 Washington D. C.  Youth Tour winner, Benjamin Black.  Mr. Black reported on his experiences in Washington D.C. including a chance meeting with Senator Pat Roberts on the plane ride home.  Also appearing was the 2017 winner of the Colorado Youth Tour, Michael Giebler.  President Flaming presented Mr. Black with a $500 scholarship check and Mr. Giebler a $200 scholarship check.

            President Flaming sought a motion to approve the consent agenda as printed which included: a waiver of the reading of the notice of the meeting and proof of publication or mailing thereof; approval of the 2017 Annual Meeting minutes as printed in the programs; and Treasurer’s Report as printed in the Kansas Country Living Magazine.  A motion was made and seconded to approve the consent agenda.

            A quorum was determined to be present with 319 registered members in attendance. There were no members present by proxy. 

            Dale Short, Butler EC CEO/Manager, was introduced by President Flaming.  Manager Short presented 2017-2018 highlights including the renovation of the BEC headquarters located in El Dorado.  Manager Short announced that Butler is in the process of adding a 1 MW solar farm to be located next to the Pony Meadows substation on Andover Road.  He thanked BEC members for conserving energy during the peak demand time of 3:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m.  Manager Short also discussed the $250,000 Holiday Refund applied to member’s electric bills December 2017.  Manager Short congratulated longtime employees Collwell Raymond, Jeff Saferite, Danny Brown, Randy Dugan and Vickie Aronld on their recent retirements from the coop.

President Flaming introduced Chris Jolly, Chairman of the Nominating Committee.  Mr. Jolly reported on behalf of the Cooperative’s Nominating Committee and announced the nominations for the three (3) Trustee positions up for elections; District 1 – Gary Hill, District 4 – Jerry Staab and  District 6 – Boyd Ray.  Attorney Ray Connell conducted the Trustee election.  The floor was opened for additional nominations for the Trustee districts up for election.  After the expiration of one minute, there were no additional nominations from the floor nor nominations by petition.  A motion was then made, seconded and carried that nominations cease and a unanimous ballot be cast for the Trustees.

            President Flaming then asked for any old business to come before the meeting.  It was concluded there was no old business to be discussed.  President Flaming asked for any new business to come before the meeting.  It was concluded there was no new business to be discussed.  There being no further business, the business meeting was adjourned at 7:57 p.m.

            At this time, President Flaming introduced CEO/Manager Dale Short and Vice President of Administration and Finance Ben Whiteside.  Manager Short and Mr. Whiteside provided entertainment, as well as presented information on Velocity broadband services.

            The 2018 Annual Meeting was concluded with a drawing for door prizes for the general membership including a whole hog giveaway.


Respectfully submitted,

Sheri Claassen 
Secretary-Treasurer Butler REC


Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo
Coop Connections Card - Show it and save We Grade It. We Fix It. YOU SAVE! Cooperative Action Network - The Voice of America's Electric Cooperatives